Daily Fit Thought #14

7 Dec

20121205-224141.jpg

Tonight’s daily fit thought is about dreams.
Do you ever lay in bed at night and imagine the things you want to do? Do you then scoff at those dreams and tell yourself to be sensible? We all have at some point, but we should not.

What is the point of life without dreams? All of our goals develop from a dream, don’t they?

I used to dream of being able to run. I would see those people running on the sidewalk. They looked happy and free. I would gaze out at them from the passenger seat of my mom’s mini-van and later on from the driver’s seat of my first car while stopped at a red light. One day, I decided to make that dream come turn. I dusted off the treadmill in the back of the garage, hopped on it, and started running. I remember that my lungs burned before I even hit half a mile. I had a side stitch by three-fourths of a mile, and I was damn near collapsing after the first mile. Instead of giving up, my dreamed expanded: I wanted to run a 5k. My first 5k, on a treadmill, took me forty-four minutes to complete. A few months later, I ran my first 5k and I completed it in thirty-one minutes. By the end of that year, I ran a half marathon. Now, I am training to run the LA Marathon in March. I never stop dreaming. I never let fear stop my dreams from becoming bigger.

Dream, dream big.

2 Responses to “Daily Fit Thought #14”

  1. The Landy December 9, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Crikey…I spend my whole life dreaming, and daydreaming, but you know what I reckon, when you start seeing yourself doing things…you end up doing them! How good is that?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Never Stop Dreaming | Follow Myself - December 8, 2012

    […] Daily Fit Thought #14 (runheathereloiserun.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

