Breakfast Believer

14 Nov

For many years I would scoff when people would tell me how breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Can you get a Big Mac at 9am? NO! Why would I want breakfast then?

Since I started this lifestyle change, I decided to start trying this breakfast thing. At first, it was only a piece of whole wheat toast. Slowly, I made my way up to a big hearty protein shake. Then, I went back down to coffee with protein powder in it.

I noticed that if I had breakfast at 9am, I would be starved again by 11am because I was not eating enough. In the back of my head, I realized that I have been worried about consuming too many calories before my day really starts. The stupid part is that this way of thinking can lead me to a bingeing session for lunch or dinner.

My solution is to not listen to that little evil “ED” voice in the back of my head. This week I experimented with having 350-500 calories for breakfast. I feel great. I have a piece or two of fruit, a piece of whole wheat bread, one egg, and my coffee protein shake. I feel full and am able to make it through all my morning routines before I go to the gym.  Also, the big calories at breakfast have not led to me going over calories or massively overeating. I had 3 meals, a snack, and a desert last night. I stayed in my nice 1750 calorie range.

My eyes have been opened. Breakfast really is the most important meal of the day. I am a believer in the importance of breakfast.

 

3 Responses to “Breakfast Believer”

  1. berry556 November 14, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    I do agree with your post . Fill up the tank early to make it through the day !

  2. fitnessaficionada November 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I have the same experience of eating a small breakfast (protein powder in water) at 7am and then feeling ravenous by 9am, at which time I eat 1/2 cup greek yogurt with 1/4 cup almonds and1/3 cup raisin bran. I am then hungry again at noon, and then at two. I used to fear (and sometimes still irrationally do) that eating over half of my calories in the first half of the day will cause me to over-eat. But over time and with experimentation, I have learned to feed my body when its hungry and trust that I will make it through the day with the right calorie balance. In turn, my body trusts that it will be fed at regular intervals and I no longer have cravings or the urge to overeat. I think its important for everyone to get to know they body and experiment to find what works for them — just like you have! This post was a pleasure to read!

    • runnerheather November 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      Thank you!
      I do think people need to listen to their bodies a bit more and show themselves a little good faith.

      Mmmm, greek yogurt.

Leave a Reply

