The Elusive Fork in the Road

13 Nov

At 23, quickly approaching 24, the looming fork in the road haunts me. What am I doing with my life? I am a mother. I am a wife. But who am I, as an individual? I am going to school, but for what?

I have many conflicting ideas. I have always had a passion for reading and writing. I could spend all day writing in a journal, just as I could spend all day talking to someone about the themes in Othello. But I have a few other passions. Health and fitness has become a huge part of my life over the past (almost) three years.

Ultimately, I love to teach. I love to help people. I am a talker. I love to get people excited and inspired. I am conflicted about either choosing a career as an English teacher or maybe doing something in personal training/nutritionist field. I have so many ideas.

My problem has always been this: I want to do everything, so I become overwhelmed and end up doing nothing. I will not let that happen this time though.

I am taking winter term off from school. I plan on starting up a binge-eating self-help group in the soCal area. A group where I can help people get a hold on why they are overeating and what can they do to stop it. So many people feel alone in those situations and I want them to know they are not. I also will start trying to find freelance writing opportunities so I can build a little portfolio. I have already been published in my school’s literary arts journal twice, so I want to expand on that.

Can you tell I like to keep busy?
I want to ramble more but I have a history assignment that needs to be finished before I hit the gym. (:

4 Responses to “The Elusive Fork in the Road”

  1. Casie November 13, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    I have the same problem too, I want to do so much and that’s why I have decided to go into teaching. I love writing and english and teaching it is a good fit for me.

    • runnerheather November 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      You also are going to school to become an English teacher? That’s what my major is currently setting me up for. What grade do you want to teach?

      • Casie November 13, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

        It’s called Middle Childhood so I can teach little kids. What about you?

      • runnerheather November 13, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

        I ultimately would like to be a college professor, but I don’t mind teaching high school for a while.

Leave a Reply

