Daily Fit Thought #6

12 Nov

 

The fit thought today is about ignoring the haters.
Since I have started New Rules of Lifting for Women I have received a lot of hate, which I have found odd.

There are quite a bit of people who believe women should not be lifting heavy.
At the gym, from my husband (I cannot tell if he is joking or not), and from friends, I am constantly told that I should not be lifting.
I have already seen so many amazing changes in my body from lifting that I could not see what the harm is.

So the daily fit thought today is to not let the haters bring you down! If you feel great and know what you are doing is working for your body, then screw what the peanut gallery is saying!!

Never let negativity control your life.

8 Responses to “Daily Fit Thought #6”

  1. Casie November 13, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I don’t understand that either, I wanna have some muscles so I can get rid of the fat and there is nothing with females and weightlifting.

    • runnerheather November 13, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      I do not think there is anything wrong with it either. I just cannot believe how many people are so anti females lifting. There are, however, lots of people that think it’s bad ass. I love lifting. I love being able to squat over 100 pounds. It makes me feel invincible. Do you lift?

      • Casie November 13, 2012 at 11:39 am #

        I recently started not about a few months ago and I’ve become such a monster at it. Lol. I got calluses on my hands to prove it!

      • runnerheather November 13, 2012 at 11:47 am #

        Did you get those gloves yet? Shoot, my hands were a hot mess until I bought a pair. And kudos, I think it’s great when women lift. I like to think of myself as a badass lifting machine also. HAHA.

      • Casie November 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

        Oh, I got the gloves and I got the fingerless kind and I’ve been using them for about 4 days now..I think and man I notice the top part of my fingers have calluses. I guess I need the ones with fingers? Lol.

      • runnerheather November 13, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

        Oh wow, I have the finger-less ones too and I have not had that problem yet. How much are you lifting?! lol.

  2. fitnessaficionada November 14, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I love love love lifting! After doing it for a year, it has completely reshaped my body in a way that years and years of cardio couldn’t! I do get a lot of strange looks from other girls at the gym, though. Try it before you knock it!

    • runnerheather November 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

      I agree. Lifting has altered my body in ways I freaking love and I cannot imagine having a workout routine without it now. I also get strange looks, in fact I got some today!

Leave a Reply

